Sex education doesn't magically happen

Sexual education is the purview of every participant involved in providing sexual education, including community groups. The government can no longer ignore the essential role of community organizations in this learning, and must ensure that they are represented on the committee which analyzes the compulsory content in sexual education.

While striving for greater collaboration between the government and community groups on this issue, the members of the ÉduSex Coalition are uniting to demand the implementation of measures that guarantee the right to quality sexual education for young Quebecers.

Demand 01

Increase funding for quality sexual education.

Funding to schools

Provide schools with sufficient financial resources to properly supervise teachers and counsellors who offer the mandatory content in sexuality education.

What will the funds be used for?

  • provide more hours dedicated to sexual education
  • provide more resources for professionals and students
  • offer more hours of training
Funding of community organizations

Provide additional funds to community groups with expertise in sexual education in order to support schools in teaching the content.

  • For several years, community organizations have made up for the lack of sexuality education courses in schools, which is why their presence in schools and, above all, around decision-making tables is necessary.
  • Several community groups specialize in issues that are rarely addressed in the compulsory content in sexual education and their intersectional approach ensures a more complete representation of lived experiences. This vital expertise is a resource that cannot be ignored.
Demand 02

Implement adequate support systems for educators so they can develop the proficiency and sensitivity to address the various issues

Initial training

Ensure that the educators who deliver the compulsory content receive initial training by sexual education professionals, including community organizations, in order to develop the necessary skills to provide sexual education that is positive, inclusive, and anti-oppressive.

Adequate pre-service training helps, among other things, to reduce the feeling of fear of being confronted with situations where the teacher does not have the knowledge or tools to answer students' questions.

Ongoing training

Provide in-service training for teachers and practitioners to ensure that the content reflects the complexity of the issues surrounding sexuality education.

Ongoing training allows educators to regularly revisit the information included in the compulsory content. As the topics explored can be complex and rapidly evolving, it is important that those who are teaching the content have access to additional and up-to-date information.

Support our demands

I sign!
I support ÉduSex
Sign the petition

Website created by Club Sexu

L’éducation à la sexualité ne va pas se faire par magie.

L’éducation à la sexualité est l’affaire de tou.te.s les acteurs et actrices œuvrant en éducation à la sexualité, dont le milieu communautaire. Le gouvernement ne peut plus ignorer le rôle essentiel des organismes communautaires dans ces apprentissages, ce pourquoi ils doivent être représentés au sein du comité qui analyse les contenus obligatoires en éducation à la sexualité.

En attendant une plus grande collaboration entre le gouvernement et les organismes communautaires sur cet enjeu, les membres de la Coalition ÉduSex s’unissent pour demander la mise en place de mesures qui garantissent le droit à une éducation à la sexualité de qualité aux jeunes Québécois.e.s.

revendication 01

Augmenter le financement pour une éducation à la sexualité de qualité.

Financement aux écoles

Donner aux écoles des moyens financiers suffisants pour bien encadrer les enseignant.e.s et les intervenant.e.s offrant les contenus obligatoires en éducation à la sexualité.

À quoi serviront les fonds?

  • offrir plus d’heures dédiées à l’éducation à la sexualité
  • offrir plus de ressources pour les intervenant.e.s et les élèves
  • offrir plus d’heures de formation
Financement des organismes communautaires

Octroyer des fonds supplémentaires aux organismes communautaires possédant une expertise en éducation à la sexualité afin de soutenir les écoles dans l’enseignement des contenus.

  • Les organismes communautaires ont pallié depuis plusieurs années à l’absence de cours d’éducation à la sexualité dans les milieux scolaires, ce pourquoi leur présence dans les écoles et, surtout, autour des tables de décisions est nécessaire.
  • Plusieurs organismes communautaires se spécialisent sur des enjeux qui sont très peu abordés dans les contenus obligatoires en éducation à la sexualité et leur approche intersectionnelle vient certainement le bonifier. Leur expertise doit être sollicitée.
revendication 02

Mettre en place des mécanismes de soutien de qualité pour assurer la compétence et la sensibilité des intervenant.e.s aux différents enjeux abordés.

Formation initiale

S’assurer que les intervenant.e.s qui dispensent les contenus reçoivent une formation initiale par des professionnel.le.s de l’éducation à la sexualité, dont les organismes communautaires, afin d’assurer leurs compétences à donner une éducation à la sexualité positive, émancipatrice et inclusive.

Une formation initiale adéquate permet notamment de diminuer le sentiment de crainte d’être confronté.e à des situations où l’enseignant.e n’aurait pas les connaissances ou les outils pour répondre aux questions des élèves.

Formation continue

Offrir de la formation continue aux enseignant.e.s et aux intervenant.e.s pour que le contenu dispensé reflète la complexité des enjeux autour de l’éducation à la sexualité.

Une formation continue permet d’approfondir et d’actualiser régulièrement les thématiques enseignées. Comme les contenus peuvent être complexes, il est important que les personnes susceptibles d’enseigner les contenus obligatoires puissent avoir de l’information supplémentaire et approfondie.

Appuyer nos revendications

Je signe !
Je soutiens ÉduSex
Signer la pétition

Site web réalisé par le Club Sexu